HUNTINGDONSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

MINUTES of the meeting of the CABINET held in the Council Chamber, Pathfinder House, St Mary's Street, Huntingdon PE29 3TN on Thursday, 18 May 2006.

PRESENT: Councillor I C Bates – Chairman.

Councillors P L E Bucknell, Mrs J Chandler, N J Guyatt, A Hansard, Mrs P J Longford, Mrs D C Reynolds, T V Rogers and

L M Simpson.

1. MINUTES

Subject to the inclusion of Councillor Mrs D C Reynolds and former Councillor D P Holley in the list of attendees, the Minutes of the meeting of the Cabinet held on 27th April 2006 were approved as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

2. MEMBERS' INTERESTS

Councillor A Hansard declared a personal interest in Minute No. 11 by virtue of his membership of St. Neots Town Council.

3. APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE COUNCILLORS

RESOLVED

(a) that executive responsibilities for the Municipal Year 2006/07 be allocated as follows -

Finance - Councille Planning Strategy - Councille

Environment and Transport

Leisure

Resources and Policy

Housing and Public Health
Headquarters and Information

Technology

Operations

- Councillor T V Rogers

- Councillor P L E Bucknell

- Councillor N J Guyatt

- Councillor Mrs J Chandler

- Councillor A Hansard

- Councillor Mrs D C Reynolds

- Councillor L M Simpson

- Councillor Mrs P J Longford.

- that the Leader of the Council be appointed to serve as exofficio Member of the Employment Panel; and
- (c) that Executive Councillors be appointed to serve as exofficio Members of Panels as follows -

utive Councillors for-

Resources and Policy

ing Strategy

Ex-Officio for-

Licensing and Protection Panel Development Control Panel

4. LEISURE CENTRE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEES

RESOLVED

that for the Municipal Year 2006/07, Members be appointed to serve on the Leisure Centre Management Committees as follows –

- Huntingdon Leisure Centre Management Committee
 Councillors K Baker, Mrs J Chandler, J J Dutton, J D Fell,
 C R Hyams and Mrs S A Menczer
- ◆ St Neots Leisure Centre Management Committee Councillors B E Boddington, Mrs J Chandler, R Eaton, A Hansard and Mrs P J Longford
- ◆ St Ivo Leisure Centre Management Committee Councillors J D Ablewhite, J T Bell, Mrs J Chandler, S J Criswell, J W Davies and C J Stephens
- ◆ Ramsey Leisure Centre Management Committee Councillors E R Butler, Mrs J Chandler, I R Muir, R Powell and P A Swales
- Sawtry Leisure Centre Management Committee
 Councillors Mrs M Banerjee, Mrs J Chandler, J E Garner,
 P G Mitchell and J S Watt.

5. COUNTRYSIDE JOINT GROUP

RESOLVED

- (a) that Hinchingbrooke Country Park Joint Liaison Group be reconstituted as the Countryside Joint Group to consider all matters related to country, riverside and other parks and open spaces; and
- (b) that Councillors M G Baker, Mrs M Banerjee, Mrs J Chandler and J D Fell be appointed to serve on the Group for the ensuing Municipal Year.

6. HUNTINGDONSHIRE ENVIRONMENT AND TRANSPORT AREA JOINT COMMITTEE

RESOLVED

that Councillors M G Baker, N J Guyatt, Mrs P J Longford, M F Newman, K Reynolds and T D Sanderson be nominated to serve on the Huntingdonshire Environment and Transport Area Joint Committee for the ensuing Municipal Year.

7. CUSTOMER FIRST AND ACCOMMODATION ADVISORY GROUP

RESOLVED

(a) that the existing Customer First and New Headquarters

- Advisory Groups be merged to form the Customer First and Accommodation Advisory Group; and
- (b) that Councillors I C Bates, P L E Bucknell, S J Criswell, P J Downes, K Reynolds, T V Rogers and L M Simpson be appointed to serve on the Advisory Group for the ensuing Municipal Year.

8. MEMBERS' ADVISORY GROUP FOR PUBLIC CONVENIENCES

RESOLVED

that Councillors Mrs J Chandler, N J Guyatt, Mrs P Longford and L M Simpson be appointed to serve on the Members' Advisory Group for Public Conveniences for the ensuing Municipal Year.

9. DEVELOPMENT PLAN POLICY ADVISORY GROUP

RESOLVED

that Councillors I C Bates, P L E Bucknell, P J Downes, N J Guyatt, P G Mitchell, J M Sadler and P A Swales be appointed to serve on the Development Plan Advisory Group for the ensuing Municipal Year.

10. SAFETY ADVISORY GROUP

RESOLVED

that Councillors Mrs D E Collins, J W Davies, A Hansard, K Reynolds and L M Simpson be appointed to serve on the Safety Advisory Group for the ensuing Municipal Year.

11. DEVELOPMENT BRIEF: OLD FIRE STATION, ST NEOTS

Consideration was given to a report by the Head of Planning Services (a copy of which is appended in the Minute Book) to which was attached a schedule summarising those representations received during consultation on the Urban Design Framework which would guide the redevelopment of land in and around the old Fire Station site in St Neots.

Having considered the responses received and in noting that the relocation of the waste disposal depot and issues surrounding the provision of a high quality recreational area along with additional car parking would be addressed through the planning process, the Cabinet

RESOLVED

(a) that the Planning Policy Manager be authorised, after consultation with the Executive Councillor for Planning Strategy, to approve the text and illustrations of the Development Brief document to incorporate the responses referred to in Annex 1 to the report now submitted and any minor consequential amendments; and

(b) that, following on from (a) above, the Development Brief for the old Fire Station site in St Neots (as amended) be adopted as Interim Planning Guidance.

12. URBAN DESIGN FRAMEWORK AND MASTERPLAN - ST. MARY'S VILLAGE, ST. NEOTS

Having considered a report by the Head of Planning Services to which was attached a development brief for land to the west of St Mary's Church, St. Neots (copies of both documents are appended in the Minute Book), the Cabinet

RESOLVED

that the Urban Design Framework for St Mary's Village be approved for consultation.

13. QUARTERLY SUMMARY OF DEBTS WRITTEN OFF

The Cabinet received and noted the report by the Head of Revenue Services (a copy of which is appended in the Minute Book) summarising debts which had been written off during January – March 2006 as irrecoverable.

Chairman